Summary

There might be a situation where an administrator might need to run the reconfigure wizard. This is a simple process but has some implications for the replication.

For example, an administrator may need to reconfigure Zerto to update the configuration of the following options:
  1. Edit the vCenter server IP or credentials. 
  2. Configure vCDAMQP Settings.
  3. Replace the Network Interface Card being used by Zerto.
  4. Replace SSL certificate
  5. Enable or disable the online services and the mobile application.
  6. Review and validate the current settings.
Please make sure to read the note at the end of this KB before finishing the reconfigure wizard.  

Steps

How to open and run the reconfigure wizard:
  1. Log into the ZVM VM (not the ZVM GUI, the actual VM).
  2. Open the Zerto diagnostic tool.
  3. Select the reconfigure process (reconfigure Zerto Virtual Manager).
  4. After a few moments, a new wizard will open.
  5. Review the different settings until the last step, which is the validation (you can find more details about each menu further down in the KB).
  6. If the validation pass, you can complete the wizard and click on run (before clicking on run, make sure to read the note at the end of this KB). If something will fail during the validation, you can click on the error message to get further details about it.
  7. When the reconfigure process will finish, you can close the wizard and the diagnostic tool. 
Note: Before proceeding with the reconfigure wizard, please consider the following things:
  1. Make sure that there are no DR operations or tasks running before continuing with the reconfigure.
  2. During the reconfigure process, the ZVM services will be restarted. The ZVM will be disconnected from its peer ZVMs until the services are up and running.
  3. No new checkpoints will be created during the restart of the ZVM services. The data (IOs) will continue to be sent between the VRAs, but new checkpoints will not be written.
  4. When the ZVM services are rebooted, the tweaks are reloaded, and the ZVM is loading data from the database. It's also reconnecting to the hypervisor and will generate a new reflection.
  5. The downtime caused by the reconfigure process will differ between different environments (usually, a small environment will load faster than a large environment).
If nothing is changed in the reconfigure menus (for example, user name, password, and etc), and the validations pass successfully, there's no need to run the reconfigure (unless asked by Zerto support).


The reconfigure settings: Let's go over each menu in the reconfigure wizard and review each setting. In this example, we'll follow the ZVM that's connected to a vCenter hypervisor. Other hypervisors might have different screens, but the same principles apply.
  1. The first menu of the reconfigure wizard is the hypervisor, in this case, a vCenter server. Here you can review the vCenter server IP, username, and password.
  2. In the next screen, you'll have the vCD settings (if applicable) where you can edit the different settings like vCD IP, username, password, and AMQP settings. 
  3. In this screen, you'll have the local ZVM details - the site name, site location, and the contact details. 
  4.  In the following screen, you'll be able to review the ZVM technical details, the ZVM IP, ports, and replace the SSL certificate (if needed).
  5. In this screen, you'll be able to enable or disable online services and the mobile application. 
  6. In the validation stage, the ZVM will check all the details and verify that it can connect to the database, that the ports are working and it can access the hypervisor. If everything is working ok, you'll see a green icon and the word "OK" will be shown. If there was an error you'll see a red icon and the word "Error". You can click on the error to review the full error message. 
  7. After the validation is finished, you can click on the recheck button to rerun the validation or click run to start the reconfigure process. 
  8.   After the reconfigure process will finish, a message will pop up on the screen notifying you that the process had ended. Click on OK, and then exit to close the reconfigure wizard.