Issue
Restoring Locked Files on Windows.

The DS-Client software can be instructed to restore locked files when the destination server is a Windows computer. This feature is important when restoring operating system files that are locked and cannot be restored in any other way (e.g. most of the operating system kernel files).


Summary
Procedure to Restore a Locked File
Locked files are restored by registering a 'replace' or 'remove' operation with the operating system, which will occur on the next system boot. On Windows, this information is stored in the registry.
There are two ways the locked file can be replaced with the restored file:
Restore Locked Files
Locked File handling option
Explanation
RenameRenames the (original) locked file (to 'dsrN.tmp', where is system generated number), then restores to the original name and instructs operating system to remove the temporary file on the next system boot.
This option allows you to restore files that must be loaded by the operating system before the process of replacing registered files takes place. The drawback of this method is the computer may become unbootable if the process of renaming and registering locked files is interrupted or not completed successfully.
Don't RenameRestore locked file with a temporary name ('dsbN.tmp', where is a system generated number) and instruct the operating system to replace the original with the temporary file on the next system boot.

Restoring Locked Files to a FAT Partition
On a FAT partition, consider the following when restoring locked files.
It is strongly recommended that you use the (default) Save method to restore.
A restore with the Use buffer or Fast methods selected might be able to immediately overwrite some locked files. In some cases (e.g. databases, services), these locked files will be overwritten AGAIN when the parent application is closed.
NOTE: It is safer to restore WITHOUT the Use buffer or Fast methods (Select restore options screen).
Special Warning Regarding Restoring Locked Files with the Rename Option:
When using the Rename Option, you must ensure a complete and successful restore session.

1. Open the Event Log for that restore session.
If there is at least one Event # 32 The process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process, then a successful restore MUST end with the message N locked files were registered for restore.
2. If you do not see this message, do not reboot the computer. Re-run the restore until you see that message.
3. Once you have had a successful restore session, reboot your computer to complete the restore process.