This article describes some common retention policies that have been implemented in production environments.

NOTE: Because of the many configurations that are possible, it must be emphasized that the customer is responsible for configuring the storage and retention policies. Treat retention as if you are performing a manual delete of data: once data is deleted from online, you can never get it back.



Example 1


The most common requirement for companies to retain data on the DS-System online storage is the following:

  • 1 generation every day for a week 
  • 1 generation every week for a month 
  • 1 generation every month for a year 
  • 1 generation every year for 7 years 


In order to implement this (or a similar) Retention Rule:

  1. The backup set must be configured with a high number of generations for the backup items (e.g. 999). 
    Know your backup data: Retention is designed for backup items that change regularly (e.g. daily). A backup item that does not change will have only one generation. 
  2. Create or Edit a Retention Rule. 
  3. In the Retention Rule Wizard, make the following configurations. 
  • In the Generic retention options screen's 'Keep most recent generations' field:
    Choose the number of most recent generations that you always want to be able to restore. Retention will not apply to these generations. Some examples of common choices: 
    • 1, for the most recent generation (e.g. for disaster recovery); 
    • 7, for the most recent 7 generations (assuming one daily backup for items that change, this keeps the last week's worth of backups); 
    • 5, for most recent 5 generations (assuming daily backups during business days from Monday-Friday for items that change, this keeps the last business week's worth of backups). 
  • In the Time retention options screen, add each time-based rule individually to the list. Rules appear in the form 'Keep one generation every [x - time] for [y - time]'. 
    • Choose the interval of time (x) over which you want to keep one generation online. All other generations in that interval will be deleted when retention is enforced. 
    • For the same rule, you must also choose the interval of time (y) that the rule applies to the entire online storage.
    • This means one generation is retained for every x-interval that fits into y (e.g. 'every 1 month for last 1 year' means 12 generations will be retained). 
    • Add the four time-based retention options so the Time Retention Option List looks as follows: 
      • Keep one generation every 1 day(s) for last 1 week(s) 
      • Keep one generation every 1 week(s) for last 1 month(s) 
      • Keep one generation every 1 month(s) for last 1 year(s) 
      • Keep one generation every 1 year(s) for last 7 year(s) 
    • However, you may wish to be more specific with the data that you want to retain. For example: 
      • Keep one generation every week on or before Friday at 23:59:59 for last 6 month(s) 
  • Finish creating the Retention Rule. 
  • Apply the Retention Rule to the backup set(s) you want. 
  • Schedule the 'Enforce Retention' process (or run it on-demand). This will delete all online generations, except those specified to be kept in the Retention Rule. 


  • Example 2


    More complex rules and regulations can be implemented with Asigra Cloud Backup™ software. For example, a company may have the following data retention requirements:

    • Any files deleted from source should be retained online on the DS-System online storage for a period of three (3) months, and afterwards this data must be moved to archive. 
    • All files must be moved from DS-System online storage to BLM Archiver if files are older than 6 months. 

    In order to do this, you would create the following Retention Rule: 

    1. Open the New Retention Rule Wizard. 
    • Select 'Deletion of files removed from source / HSMed data' 
    • Select 'Archive old data to BLM' 
  • Click Next. In the Delete Options screen: 
    • Configure 'If files are removed from source after 3 months, Keep Generations: 0' 
  • Click Next. In the Archive Options screen: 
    • Add the Archive Rule 'Archive files older than 6 month(s)' 
    • Make sure the rule applies to 'All files' 
  • Click Next. In the Choose a name screen: 
    • Select the option 'Move obsolete data to BLM' 
  • Click Finish.